Welsh Correspondence Chess Federation

Rydym yn Ffrindiau - Amici Sumus

Tip of the Week #7

New Article...

Friendly Match Completed

Russell Sherwood  Monday, July 12, 2021

Our 960 training match with England is complete, with a comprehensive 26.5-1.5 win for the Welsh Team.

Congratulations to all the players involved and we will seek to arrange another 960 friendly match in the near future.

Cross Table (iccf.com)


Rakhmanov’s Secrets of Opening Preparation

New Article...

12th European Team Championships Semi-Finals underway

Russell Sherwood  Monday, July 5, 2021

Good luck to the Welsh Team in 12th European Team Championship Semifinal 3

We have been drawn in a strong group and as 8th of 10 in rating terms, we face an uphill battle, but we have been here before!

Welsh Team

  1. John Claridge
  2. Austin Lockwood
  3. Nick Bishop
  4. Paul Keevil
  5. Alex Sherwood
  6. Rhys Jones
  7. Paul Scott
  8. Alex Bullen



Tip of the Week #6

New Article...

British Correspondence Chess Championship

Russell Sherwood  Sunday, June 27, 2021

The British Correspondence Chess Championship (BCCC) is the premier tournament on the British CC calendar. Running continuously since 1921 and open to all British players, the BCCC has carried ICCF title norms since 2016.

The BCCC caters for players of all levels and consists of a Championship, one or more candidate’s section and a number of reserves sections.

The BCCC is organised jointly by the English Federation for Correspondence Chess (EFCC), the Scottish Correspondence Chess Association (ScoCCA) and the Welsh Correspondence Chess Federation (WCCF).

Further details of the tournament, including the full rules and a list of previous winners, are available on the EFCC website:


Last season’s crosstables can be viewed here:

Cross Table (iccf.com)Cross Table (iccf.com)
Candidates ACross Table (iccf.com)
Cross Table (iccf.com)Cross Table (iccf.com)
Cross Table (iccf.com) 


There is a first prize of £100 and a second prize of £50

Entries close on August 31 and play is due to commence in September 2021. Entries can be made to directly to Tournament Organiser, Russell Sherwood or via the National Federation. Please note that these are the only entry routes for this event.

The BCCC is a highly competitive event and we are unable to confirm a players final allocation at the time of entry.

Welsh https://welshccf.org.uk/content/18

For more details please contact your National Federation or Russell Sherwood

 Entries and the entry fee of £12 should be received by Russell Sherwood, no later than 31st August 2021. If you have a qualification to a specific division please state this at the time of entry.

Sent by Gordon Anderson (Scotland) Phill Beckett (England) and Russell Sherwood (Wales)

BCCC EntriesCorredpondenceChess

CCE Norm for Jon Coles

Russell Sherwood  Tuesday, June 22, 2021

Congratulations to Jon Coles in picking up a CCE Norm in DE 15th Webserver Anniversary pr 24

CCE NormCorrespondenceChessJon ColesWCCF

Tip of the Week #5

New Article...

11th European Team Championship - Final

Russell Sherwood  Sunday, June 20, 2021

The Finals of the 11th European Team Championships are underway.

Good Luck to the Welsh Team.

Welsh Team

  1. SIM Gareth Yeo Cat 11 +2 for GM Norm
  2. IM Tony Balshaw Cat 11 +1 SIM, +2 GM
  3. SIM John Claridge Cat 10 +3 GM
  4. IM Ian Jones Cat 9 +2 SIM, +3 GM
  5. IM Austin Lockwood Cat 9 +2 SIM, +3 GM
  6. CCM Russell Sherwood Cat 8 +1 IM, +2 SIM, +4 GM
  7. LGM Helen Sherwood Cat 7 +1 IM, +3 SIM, +4 GM
  8. CCM Mark Adams Cat 6 +2 IM, +3 SIM 

Also, congratulations to Scotland and any other Home Nations teams who qualified for probably the strongest international team event!


British Solving Championship

New Article...

Welsh Correspondence Chess FederationBritish Correspondence Chess AssociationClergy Correspondence Chess ClubSchemingMind Internet Correspondence Chess ClubSocial Correspondence Chess AssociationNational Correspondence Chess ClubWelsh Chess UnionInternational Correspondence Chess Association